Good Friday Procession  of Witness

  

Easter

Every Good Friday members from the Banstead Five Churches parade through the town stopping at various points to recall the meaning of Christ's sacrifice. The congregations of all the Banstead Five Churches usually participate with readings and singing hymns. Finally a service is held at the United Reformed Church.

Lenten Cross Programme

During Lent we follow the Lenten Cross programme, from Tragedy to Triumph.
We strip the branches from our Christmas tree, and make it into a large cross. By using the Christmas tree we immediately link the gift of Christmas in Bethlehem with the sacrifice of Calvary.

The Cross stands at the front of the church for all to see and each week symbols are placed on or around the Cross after an appropriate Bible reading referring to that symbol. For example, we hang a moneybag with thirty pieces of silver on the Cross and we we add the bread and wine and a bowl and towel. On the fourth Sunday we add a purple robe and a crown of thorns. On Passion Sunday, a whip is placed on the cross and on Palm Sunday a palm branch. On Good Friday three nails are nailed into the cross.

On Easter Sunday, the symbols are taken away and replaced with a covering of Spring flowers brought by members of the congregation. The stark cross  is converted from tragedy to triumph!
The original idea was brought back from America in 1988, by the Rev.Peter Shilling.


 
What's On
Thu 29th Jul,8:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 1st Aug,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Rev Rosemary Richter
inc. Holy Communion
Thu 5th Aug,8:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 8th Aug,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Rev Chris Morley
Thu 12th Aug,8:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 15th Aug,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Rev Anne Rusbridge
Thu 19th Aug,8:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 22nd Aug,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Mr John Dawson
Thu 26th Aug,8:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 29th Aug,10:30am
Morning Worship & HC,
Rev Rosemary Richter
Inc. Holy Communion
random-18.jpg
We have 111 guests online