Good Friday Procession  of Witness

  

Easter

Every Good Friday members from the Banstead Five Churches parade through the town stopping at various points to recall the meaning of Christ's sacrifice. The congregations of all the Banstead Five Churches usually participate with readings and singing hymns. Finally a service is held at the United Reformed Church.

Lenten Cross Programme

During Lent we follow the Lenten Cross programme, from Tragedy to Triumph.
We strip the branches from our Christmas tree, and make it into a large cross. By using the Christmas tree we immediately link the gift of Christmas in Bethlehem with the sacrifice of Calvary.

The Cross stands at the front of the church for all to see and each week symbols are placed on or around the Cross after an appropriate Bible reading referring to that symbol. For example, we hang a moneybag with thirty pieces of silver on the Cross and we we add the bread and wine and a bowl and towel. On the fourth Sunday we add a purple robe and a crown of thorns. On Passion Sunday, a whip is placed on the cross and on Palm Sunday a palm branch. On Good Friday three nails are nailed into the cross.

On Easter Sunday, the symbols are taken away and replaced with a covering of Spring flowers brought by members of the congregation. The stark cross  is converted from tragedy to triumph!
The original idea was brought back from America in 1988, by the Rev.Peter Shilling.


 
What's On
Tue 18th Jan,1:00pm
Open House,
Thu 20th Jan,7:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 23rd Jan,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Mr Peter Thompson
Tue 25th Jan,1:00pm
Open House,
Thu 27th Jan,7:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 30th Jan,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Revd Rosemary Richter
PARADE UNITED SERV.
Tue 1st Feb,1:00pm
Open House,
Thu 3rd Feb,7:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 6th Feb,10:30am
Morning Worship & HC,
Revd Dr Philip Richter
Tue 8th Feb,1:00pm
Open House,
Thu 10th Feb,7:00pm
Badminton Club,
Sun 13th Feb,10:30am
Morning Worship,
Mr Richard Smith
random-24.jpg
We have 62 guests online